Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Working Groups

sustainNU Working Groups are responsible for planning and implementing initiatives aimed at achieving the University’s sustainability goals. There is a Working Group for each of the five program areas identified in the Strategic Sustainability Plan. Working Group membership is open to all interested students, faculty, and staff. To join one of these groups, contact the Working Group facilitators listed below.

Working Group members and others interested in advancing sustainability on campus can also sign up for sustainNU Working Group LISTSERVs or the general sustainNU LISTSERV to join the conversation about campus sustainability initiatives or efforts related to the five program areas. 

For questions, email sustainability@northwestern.edu.

Built Environment 

Areas of focus include energy, renewable energy, infrastructure, water and land, and greenhouse gas emissions.
Contact: Andy Stein, astein@northwestern.edu 
Working Group LISTSERV

Transportation 

Areas of focus include commuting and campus travel, cycling, and electric vehicles.
Contact: Audrey Steinbach, audrey.steinbach@northwestern.edu 
Working Group LISTSERV

Resource Conservation 

Areas of focus include waste reduction, environmentally preferable purchasing, and sustainable food.
Contact: Julie Cahillane, j-cahillane@northwestern.edu
Working Group LISTSERV

Experiential Learning 

Areas of focus include real-world learning opportunities and research and application of sustainability technologies. 
Contact: Kathia Benitez, kathia.benitez@northwestern.edu 
Working Group LISTSERV

Communications and Engagement 

Areas of focus include communication and engagement activities aimed at faculty members, students, staff members, alumni, and the broader community.
Contact: Stephanie Folk, stephanie.folk@northwestern.edu 
Working Group LISTSERV

Back to top