Religious Holidays

Religious Holidays

The following list of holidays is not exhaustive, and holidays included are not necessarily days that adherants refrain from activity.

To view the university's policy on accomodating for religious holidays:

For a more detailed listing of religious holidays throughout the year, visit the interfaith calendar.

Baha'i

  • DSC01323Birth of  Bab - October 20, 2013 (Sun)
  • Birth of Baha’u’llah - November 12, 2013 (Tues)
  • Naw Ruz - Baha’i New Year March 21, 2014 (Fri)
  • Feast of Ridvan - April 21, 2014 (Mon)

Buddhist

  • Bodhi Day,  Buddha’s Enlightenment - December 8, 2013 (Fri)
  • Parinirvana Day - February 15, 2014 (Sat)
  • Vesak-Buddha's Birth - May 5, 2014 (Mon) -- note Vesak is celebrated on different days, usually in the spring, by various Buddhist traditions

Christian

  • CrossChristmas - December 25, 2013 (Wed)
  • Ash Wednesday - March 5, 2014  (Wed)
  • Good Friday - April 18, 2014  (Fri)
  • Easter - April 20 (Sun)
  • Pentecost - June 8, 2014 (Sun)

Hindu

  • Navaratri - October 5 - October 13, 2013 (Sat-Sun)
  • Dussehra - October 14, 2013 (Mon)
  • Diwali - November 3, 2013 (Sun)

Islamic

  • Al Hijra (New Year) November 5 - December 3, 2013 (Tues - Wed)
  • Ramadan - begins June 28, 2014 (Sat)
  • CandleEid-Ul-Fitr-(Ramadan ends) July 27, 2014 (Sun)
  • Eid-Al-Adha - October 4, 2014 (Sat)
  • Al Hijra (New Year) October 25, 2014 (Sat)

Note: These days are based on a lunar calendar and are subject to the appearance of the moon and announced by the mosque. They may be celebrated a day or two earlier. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days, others may observe first two of Eid-Ul-Fitr

Jewish

  • Rosh Hashanah- September 5 - September 6, 2013 (Thurs-Fri)
  • Yom Kipuur - September 14, 2013 (Sat)
  • Sukkot - September 19 - 25, 2013 (Thurs-Wed)
  • Shmini Atzeret - September 26, 2013 (Thurs)
  • Simchat Torah - September 27, 2013 (Fri)
  • Chanukah - Novbember 28 - December 5, 2013 (Thurs-Thurs)
  • Purim February 14, 2014 (Fri)
  • Passover - April 15 - April 22, 2014 (Tues-Tues)
  • Shavuot - June 4-5, 2014 (Wed & Thurs)

Note: All Jewish holidays begin at sundown the day before they are listed and end one hour after sunset on the last day given.

Sikh

  • Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday - January 5, 2014  (Sun)
  • Vaishakhi - April 14, 2014 (Mon)
  • Martyrdom Day of Guru Arjan Dev Sahib - June 16, 2014 (Mon)