Northwestern Emeriti Organization

The Northwestern Emeriti Organization (NEO) was founded in 2001 with support of the Office of the Provost to further the social and professional life of its emeritus community and to continue benefiting from their abilities and knowledge in the University. (NEO maintains contact with the Association of Retirement Organizations in Higher Education and the Big Ten Retirement Association.)


Bimonthly Luncheons

NEO members gather for lunch at 12:00 PM on the first Wednesday in even-numbered months. These lunches are currently held at Prairie Moon Restaurant, 1502 Sherman Avenue, Evanston.  The cost is $15 per person (cash only), which includes a three-course buffet and non-alcoholic beverages.  Luncheons are subsidized in part by the Provost's office.

Thrice-Yearly Dinners

Each academic quarter features a dinner or luncheon at the Zhivago Restaurant, 9925 Gross Point Road, Skokie/Evanston, for NEO members and invited spouses, partners, or friends followed by a program of learning or entertainment, usually by a member of Northwestern's rich community of scholars, teachers, and performers. The cost is $15 per person and includes a choice of menu.  Dinners are subsidized in part by the Provost's office.  Program for 2014-15:

October 29, 2014 (dinner, 6:00 p.m.)
Guest speaker Dr. Patricia Garcia, Associate Dean in the Feinberg School of Medicine, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.  Dr. Garcia is a leading authority on HIV, particularly regarding pregnancy and newborns.

March 11, 2015 (dinner, 6:00 p.m.)
Guest speaker Professor Carol Simpson Stern, School of Communication, Department of Performance Studies.  Professor Stern is the associate editor of Text and Performance Quarterly.  She has devoted over 25 years of her career to the improvement of higher education.
May 13, 2015 (dinner, 6:00 p.m.)
Guest Speaker Crown Family Professor of Jewish Studies, Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, Department of History.  Among his many areas of research and study, he has lectured on Franz Kafka, Thomas Mann, James Joyce and most recently, contemporary issues in the Ukraine.


The Faculty Handbook contains a comprehensive section on retirement procedures and eligibility for appointment to emeritus status.

Briefly, faculty members who retire at age 55 or later after at least ten years of continuous service on the Northwestern faculty are eligible for appointment to emeritus status. However, the appointments require the recommendation of the school dean, endorsement by the Provost, and approval of the Board of Trustees. See the statement for more information.

In 2014, fourteen faculty members and three NU librarians were appointed to emeritus status (see a list of all emeriti designated). NEO now has more than 575 members. About 70% of NEO members still live in Illinois (greater Chicago area) and 38% of those in Evanston. (See graphs of NEO members as of 2012.)

Membership in NEO, moreover, extends as well to retired professional staff who performed a core academic function (e.g., librarians) and retired senior administrative staff subject to a vote by NEO's Executive Council. (See NEO's Charter for more information.)


NEO Officers

As specified in its Charter, NEO's administrative functions are discharged by an elected President, a Vice-President, and a Secretary-Treasurer. NEO is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the three administrative officers, the immediate past President, and six other council members elected to staggered two-year terms. (See the current and past NEO officers.)

The NEO president for 2014-15 is Fred Hemke, Vice-President is Allan Drebin, Secretary-Treasurer is Daniel Garrison. The Executive Council consists of Adele Combs, Sharon Dooley, Melvin Gerbie, Kathy Rundell, and John Wright. Jock McLane serves on the Executive Council as immediate Past President. The Provost, Daniel Linzer, is a member ex-officio.

NEO has representation in the Faculty Senate:  Its delegate, Daniel Garrison, will be a full voting member and serves as the Secretary of the Senate. Malcolm Hast is the alternate delegate.

Benefits and Practical Information for Emeritus Faculty

The section on benefits and practical information for emeritus faculty contains information regarding benefits available to emeriti. All retirees, however, may have access to some of these benefits.