Search Committee for Dean of Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Northwestern University is conducting a search for the successor to Sarah Mangelsdorf, dean of the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. A search committee, including representatives from the administration, faculty, staff and student body, is undertaking the search with the assistance of the search firm Witt-Kieffer. The committee is now accepting applications, both internal and external, and will be reviewing candidates later in the fall. Interested parties should contact

All questions about this search should be directed to:

Related News and Announcements:

The WCAS search committee will be hosting an Open Forum to provide an opportunity for those in the Northwestern community -- students, faculty, staff and alumni -- to offer input regarding the desired attributes of the next dean.  This Open Forum has been scheduled for Tuesday, October 7, 2014, from 5:00-6:30 pm at the Mary and Leigh Block Museum’s Pick-Laudati Auditorium, located at 40 Arts Circle Drive on the Evanston campus. (Directions can be found on this website.)  All Northwestern community members are invited to attend this Open Forum.

Mark Ratner Named Interim-Dean of Weinberg College
Sarah Mangelsdorf Named Provost of the University of Wisconsin

Search Committee Members

  • Wendy Wall, Search Committee Chair and Professor, English, Avalon Foundation Professor of the Humanities, and Director, Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities, WCAS
  • Ravi Allada, Professor and Chair, Neurobiology, WCAS
  • Frances Aparicio, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese, WCAS
  • Craig Bina, W.V. Jones II Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, WCAS
  • Hannah Bredar, Student, WCAS, Class of 2015
  • Chris Comerford, Director of Information Technology, WCAS
  • Huey Copeland II, Associate Professor, Art History, WCAS
  • Renee Engeln, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, WCAS
  • Robert Gundlach, Program Director, Writing Program, WCAS
  • Laura Hein, Professor, History, WCAS
  • D. Soyini Madison, Professor and Chair, Performance Studies, School of Communication
  • James Mahoney, Gordon Fulcher Professor of Decision-Making, Political Science and Sociology, WCAS
  • Charles Manski, Board of Trustees Professor, Economics, WCAS
  • Dwight McBride, Dan Hale Williams Professor, African American Studies, WCAS, Dean, The Graduate School, Associate Provost for Graduate Education
  • Teri Odom, Professor, Chemistry, WCAS, Faculty Senate Budget Committee
  • Daniel Rodriguez, Harold Washington Professor and Dean, School of Law
  • Elizabeth Warnock, Member, WCAS Board of Visitors

The committee is being staffed by:

  • Jake Julia, associate vice president and associate provost for academic initiatives
  • Celina Flowers, project coordinator, Office of the Provost