Illinois State Law - "Social Host Law"

Illinois State Law - "Social Host Law"

The law now states that any individual can be arrested and/or charged with a crime for simply allowing or permitting individuals under the age of 21 to drink alcohol at their residence or on their property – even if the individual did not directly supply or provide the underage person with alcohol.  Therefore, students who host social events (whether on or off campus) are expected to monitor their parties and make sure that underage people are not drinking on their property. 

Consequences For Party Host(s)

Results for party host(s) if found in violation: 

  • Arrested and charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
  • Fine of at least $500.
  • When the violation directly or indirectly results in great bodily harm or death to any person, the person who committed the violation shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.

Prevent Criminal Prosecution

A party host will be protected from criminal prosecution (i.e., get amnesty) if:

  1. Requests Assistance
    He or she requests assistance from the police to either:
    -Remove any person who refuses to abide by the party host’s demand to stop drinking.
    -Terminate the gathering, because the party host has been unable to prevent persons under the age of 21 years from consuming alcohol, despite having taken all reasonable steps to do so.
  2. Party Host Contacts Police
    Party host contacts the police for help, before any other person makes a formal complaint to law enforcement.

 Full text of this Illinois State Law - "Social Host Law".