•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Scholarship Donors Honored

Students given opportunity to thank benefactors during Deering Meadow luncheon

text size AAA
May 23, 2012
Back Row – left to right: Patricia Lee (WCAS14), Jane Wang (WCAS14), President Morton Schapiro, Mimi Schapiro, Eupha McCrary (SESP12), Nicole Negrete (BSM12), Bill Sagan - Trustee (WCAS73). Front Row – left to right: Don Perkins – Trustee, Benjamin Rafshoon (McC14), Jane Perkins.
Back Row – left to right: Paul Weber, Audrey Weber, Matthew Sappington (WCAS13), Rachel Molinaro (C13), President Morton Schapiro, Sue Chuang (WCAS13), Patricia Lin (WCAS13), Kathryn Schwarzmann (BSM12). Front Row – left to right: Ben Fischer, Betty Elaine Fischer, President Emeritus Arnold Weber, Becca Fischer.
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern University honored scholarship donors for their generosity at a May 20 luncheon on Deering Meadow. More than 200 donors, students and staff attended the event, which celebrated the devotion of the University's alumni and friends and gave student scholarship recipients a chance to meet their benefactors.

President Morton Schapiro, Vice President for Student Affairs Patricia Telles-Irvin and Trustee Bill Sagan (WCAS73) addressed the audience, as did Rachel Molinaro, the recipient of the C. William “Bill” Fischer Scholarship. Molinaro, a junior double majoring in dance and international studies, spoke glowingly about what scholarship support has meant to her Northwestern experience.

This is the first time the University has hosted such an event for scholarship donors, but President Schapiro noted he hopes to make the luncheon a tradition.

Topics: Campus Life