•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Kra Named Andersen Research and Teaching Professor

November 4, 2011 | by Jasmine Rangel

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Bryna Kra, professor of mathematics in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has been named the Arthur E. Andersen Research and Teaching Professor.

In her time at Northwestern, Kra has published 18 papers. She has been invited to speak at more than 40 conferences, including the International Congress of Mathematicians in 2006, and co-organized 12 conferences. A founder and member of Women in Mathematics at Northwestern, Kra is the chair of the mathematics department and has chaired three hiring committees.

Kra has been honored with the Levi L. Conant Prize, an Eisenbud Professorship at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI), a Clay Research Scholarship and the Centennial Fellowship from the American Mathematical Society (AMS). She also has been awarded several National Science Foundation grants for her work in dynamical systems and ergodic theory.

An active member of the AMS, Kra currently serves on the executive committee of the society’s council and is an editor for the Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society and the Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society. Starting this year, she is on the Board of Trustees of the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IPAM) and will become an executive editor of Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems in 2012.

Kra joined the Northwestern faculty in 2004.

Topics: People