•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

NU Press Poet Wins 'Genius' Award

University Press author A. E. Stallings named a 2011 MacArthur Foundation Fellow

September 26, 2011 | by Wendy Leopold
EVANSTON, Ill. --- A. E. Stallings -- who this week was named a 2011 MacArthur Foundation Fellow – is the author of a forthcoming volume of poetry from Northwestern University Press. The $500,000, “no strings attached” fellowships are commonly called the MacArthur “genius” awards.

In naming Stallings one of 22 MacArthur Fellows, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation described her as a poet and translator who explores “the classical world and traditional poetic techniques to craft works that evoke startling insights about contemporary life.”

In 2006, Northwestern University Press published “Hapax,” Stallings’ second book of poetry, as part of the TriQuarterly Books imprint. The book won the Poet’s Prize and the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Benjamin H. Danks Award.

“OLIVES: Poems,” her forthcoming book and another TriQuarterly Books publication, will be released by Northwestern University Press in the spring.

“Hapax” is available to order on the Northwestern University Press website at http://www.nupress.northwestern.edu/.

Topics: University News