•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Symphonic Wind Ensemble Presents Webcast

text size AAA
February 23, 2011 | by Judy Moore

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern University’s Symphonic Wind Ensemble will present a live webcast of their performance at Pick-Staiger Concert Hall at 7:30 p.m. (CST) Friday, Feb. 25.

The webcast may be viewed at pickstaiger.org/webcasts, where the live video stream will begin approximately 10 minutes prior to the performance (7:20 p.m. CST).

Those wishing to view the webcast should download the latest version of the free Adobe Flash Player, available at http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.

The Symphonic Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Mallory Thompson, will perform the Overture of Mozart’s “The Marriage of Figaro”; “Sleep,” Eric Whitacre’s work inspired by poet Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”; “Sweelinck Variations,” David Noon’s work based on themes by early Baroque Era Dutch composer Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck; and David Maslanka’s Symphony No. 4, a modern-day “ode to joy.”

Thompson is coordinator of conducting and ensembles and director of bands.

The performance is part of the Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music at Northwestern’s winter concert season.

More information about Bienen School of Music live webcasts may be found at pickstaiger.org/webcasts.
Topics: Campus Life