•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Northwestern Establishes Teacher Award

Selection of distinguished secondary teachers to be based on nominations by graduating seniors

October 21, 2010

Northwestern University will recognize outstanding secondary school teachers at its 2011 Commencement. Four teachers will be selected, based on a process in which graduating seniors nominate teachers who have had a transforming impact on their students. Each teacher honored and his or her school will receive an award of $2500.

The award is co-sponsored by the Associated Student Government and the Office of the President.

“I want to thank Josh Wasserman (MEAS’11) and ASG president Claire Lew (SESP’11) for their leadership and help in this initiative to recognize the role of outstanding teachers in our lives and our communities,” said Northwestern President Morton Schapiro. “We look forward to receiving many excellent nominations.”

A selection committee co-chaired by Wasserman, who proposed the award program, and Eugene Lowe, assistant to the president and senior lecturer in Religious Studies, will review nominations and request teaching portfolios from nominated teachers for finalist consideration. The committee will recommend four outstanding teachers to President Schapiro for this recognition.

The deadline for nominations is November 24, 2010. Award recipients will be announced in April 2011. Student nominators of the award-winning teachers will also be recognized during commencement events.

For questions about the awards, e-mail DSTAwards@northwestern.edu.

Topics: University News