•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Stephen Colbert and Other Alumni Win Big

Five alumni win Emmys, still more are Emmy-nominated

September 10, 2010 | by Wendy Leopold

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern alumni won big at this year’s Emmy Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, garnering five of the prestigious awards for television excellence from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Emily Gerson-Saines, executive producer of “Temple Grandin” and 1986 School of Communication graduate, won in the outstanding made-for-television movie category. The film -- the big winner of the night with five Emmys -- is named after the accomplished professor, best-selling author and celebrated livestock industry consultant who was born with autism.

Winning for outstanding writer for a variety, music or comedy series was 1994 alum Jason Winer, co-executive producer and director “Modern Family,” an ABC “mockumentary” comedy that earned three Emmys.

Other Emmy winners were Stephen Colbert, “The Colbert Report” executive producer, host and writer and a 1986 School of Communication graduate. He shared the Emmy for outstanding writing for a variety, music or comedy series with 1996 Communication alum and “Colbert Report” writer Peter Grosz. Alumna Ann-Margret won as outstanding guest actress in a drama series for a role on “Law and Order: Special Victims Unit.”

The list of 2010 Emmy nominees featured still more Northwestern alumni, including “The New Adventures of Old Christine” leading actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus; “The Office” producer Justin Spitzer; “Dexter” producer David W. Zucker; “Saturday Night Live” writer and comedian Seth Meyers; “Friday Night Lights” casting director Linda Lowy; and “Wizards of Waverly Place” executive producer Perry Rein.

All in all, the Aug. 30 award ceremony airing on ABC proved a terrific night for Northwestern and its School of Communication.

Topics: People, Campus Life