•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Four Undergraduates Awarded Goldwater Scholarships

April 30, 2010 | by Jasmine Rangel
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Four Northwestern University undergraduate students were named Barry M. Goldwater Scholars for the 2010-2011 academic year. The honor is one of the most distinguished scholarships conferred on undergraduate sophomores and juniors studying the sciences.

The Goldwater scholars are Andrew Paul Groves, of Ann Arbor, Mich.; Dennis Xiao Hu, of Canton, Mich.; Marc Aaron Giesener, of Minnetonka, Minn.; and Samantha Dale Strasser, of Rib Mountain, Wis. They all have receiving a Ph.D., teaching and conducting research as career goals. Groves and Giesener are majoring in integrated sciences and chemistry, Hu in biological science and chemistry and Strasser in applied mathematics and biomedical engineering.

For the past two years, three Northwestern students have been named Goldwater scholars annually. Four scholars in one year is a rare and distinguished accomplishment, said Sara Anson Vaux, director of the Office of Fellowships at Northwestern.

Goldwater scholars frequently go on to win National Science Foundation, Marshall, Gates, Churchill and Rhodes scholarships. Created in honor of former U.S. Sen. Barry M. Goldwater, the scholarship is given to approximately 300 sophomores and juniors in the United States pursuing a career in science, math or engineering. The Board of Trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation chose this year's 278 scholars from a field of more than 1,000.
Topics: Campus Life