•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

William O. Lipinski Symposium to Focus on Future of Area

November 11, 2008 | by Megan Fellman
EVANSTON, Ill. --- The second annual William O. Lipinski Symposium on Transportation Policy will be held Thursday, Nov. 13, at Northwestern University.

In honor of the 100th anniversary of Daniel Burnham's plan for Chicago, transportation leaders and policy makers will gather to discuss how the Chicago-area transportation system can meet the national and regional needs of society for the next 100 years.

Sponsored by Northwestern's Infrastructure Technology Institute, the symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at the James L. Allen Center, 2169 Campus Drive, on Northwestern's Evanston campus. The symposium is named for former Congressman William O. Lipinski of Chicago.

The invitation-only event is for members of the transportation community and not open to the public.

At 1 p.m. Mr. Lipinski will present the inaugural David F. Schulz Award for Outstanding Public Service in Transportation and Infrastructure Policy. This year's honoree is U.S. Rep. James L. Oberstar of Minnesota. The award is named for Dave Schulz, founding director of the Infrastructure Technology Institute, who passed away last year.

Speakers will include:

• Hon. William O. Lipinski, former member of the U.S. House of Representatives
• U.S. Rep. James L. Oberstar of Minnesota, chairman, House Transportation and Infrastructure
• U.S. Rep. Jerry F. Costello of Illinois, chairman, House Subcommittee on Aviation
• Jim Daley, mayor, Village of Homer Glen, Illinois
• U.S. Rep. John J. Duncan, Jr., of Tennessee, ranking member, House Subcommittee on Highways and Transit
• William Grams, executive director, Illinois Road and Transportation Builders Association
• Ron Huberman, president, Chicago Transit Authority
• Larry Johnson, Argonne National Laboratory
• Frank Kruesi, director, City of Chicago's Washington, D.C., Office of Intergovernmental Relations
• U.S. Rep. Daniel Lipinski of Illinois, member, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
• John F. McCarron, adjunct lecturer, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University, and long-time op-ed contributor to the Chicago Tribune
• U.S. Rep. John L. Mica of Florida, ranking member, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
• Rep. Elaine Nekritz, 57th District, Illinois House of Representatives
• U.S. Rep. Thomas E. Petri of Wisconsin, ranking member, House Subcommittee on Aviation
• Joseph Schofer, associate dean and professor of civil and environmental engineering, McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, and director of the Infrastructure Technology Institute, Northwestern University
• Joseph Schwieterman, director, Chaddick Institute for Metropolitan Development, and professor, DePaul University
• Milton R. Sees, secretary, Illinois Department of Transportation
• Carl S. Smith, Franklyn Bliss Snyder Professor of English and American Studies, Northwestern University
• Michael Toman, adjunct professor, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University, Washington, D.C.
• Martin Wachs, director of transportation and space, The Rand Corporation

More information, including a schedule of speakers, can be found online.
Topics: Campus Life