•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Eighteen Students Awarded Study Scholarships in Germany

August 14, 2008
EVANSTON, Ill. --- The German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst – DAAD), an organization promoting higher education in Germany and providing funding to do so, has awarded scholarships and grants to 18 Northwestern University students for the 2008-09 academic year.

Graduate Study Scholarships were awarded to Angela Anderson, Tyler Brandt, John Carnwath, Priya Fielding-Singh, Mark Hammervold, Brandon Lane, Joel Morris, Sara Patrawala, Emilie Prattico, Victoria Prussing and Scot Rousse.

Eric Kramer and Laura Riegel were accepted into the Research Internships in Science and Engineering (RISE) program; Supinda Watcharotone was accepted into the RISE professional program; and Brian Bodensteiner, Emily Dolan, Alexandra Hunstein and Christopher Schmidt received Undergraduate Scholarships.

DAAD programs designed to create goodwill and professional relationships that will help build a solid basis for relations between Germany and North America. DAAD scholarships are highly competitive and recipients are selected by independent selection committees on the basis of outstanding academic records and convincing project proposals or statements of purpose.

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is the German national agency for the support of international academic cooperation. The DAAD offers programs and funding for students, faculty, researchers and others in higher education providing financial support to over 50,000 individuals per year. DAAD also represents the German higher education system abroad, promoting Germany as an academic and research destination and establishes ties among institutions around the world.
Topics: People