•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Twelve Students Receive Fulbright Grants

July 8, 2008
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Twelve Northwestern University graduates and graduate students have been awarded Fulbright grants for 2008.

They will begin study and research in fields ranging from engineering to law to music performance in seven countries on four continents.

Fulbright award winners and their year of graduation include:
Karen Attiah (Ghana), Communications (2008)
Rob Delaney (Senegal), Economic Development (2008)
Ashley Klobuchar (Germany), Law (2008)
Brandon Lane (Germany), Chemistry (2008)
Vivian Leung (China), Public Health (2008)
Zachary Pfau (France), Musical Instrument Training (2008)
Barbara Zukowski (Poland), Literature (2008)

Graduate students awarded Fulbrights to foreign countries are:
Jason Johnson (Germany), Modern History
Caley McIntyre (Mexico), Public Health
Joel Morris (Germany), Comparative Literature
Sam Pickerill (China), Engineering
Steven Tester (Germany), Comparative Literature

The Fulbright Program, an international educational exchange program, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Since its inception, the Fulbright Program has exchanged more than a quarter of a million people –- 108,160 Americans who have studied, taught or researched abroad and 178,340 students, scholars and teachers from other countries who have engaged in similar activities in the United States. The program operates in more than 155 countries.

(Taryn Tawoda is a sophomore in the Medill School of Journalism)