•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

February 2006 Theatre/Dance Calendar

text size AAA
January 24, 2006 | by Judy Moore

EVANSTON, Ill. --- This February, Northwestern University will continue performances of “Madame Bovary” (Jan. 27 to Feb. 5), a play based on Gustave Flaubert’s novel of one of the most compelling heroines in modern literature.

The University also will present the musical comedy “Candide” (Feb. 10 to 19) and “Danceworks” (Feb. 24 to March 5), the annual showcase featuring the finest choreography of the Northwestern University Dance Program faculty. Also scheduled is a related Saturday morning “Children’s Introduction to the Dance” program (Feb. 25) for families with children aged 4 and older.

Northwestern University will continue to celebrate its 25th anniversary theatre season during 2006 by also staging dramas based on the writings of George Bernard Shaw and William Saroyan, and a play for young audiences about a kindly dragon.

For more information or to order single or group tickets by phone, call the Theatre and Interpretation Center Box Office at (847) 491-7282.

Online ticket sales for Northwestern Mainstage productions also are available through TicketWeb.com by going to the Northwestern University Theatre and Interpretation Center Web site at http://www.tic.northwestern.edu/tickets.html and clicking the TicketWeb icon.

THEATRE

 “Madame Bovary,” 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 27; 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 28; 2 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 29; 8 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 1; 8 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 2; 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 3; 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 4; and 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 5, Josephine Louis Theater, 20 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston campus. Based on Gustave Flaubert’s novel, the play spotlights the life of Emma Bovary as she revolts against the ordinariness of her marriage by pursuing dreams of ecstasy and love. This classic tale will be adapted and directed by Joseph Jefferson Award-winning director Paul Edwards, associate professor of performance studies at Northwestern. Tickets are $25 for the general public; $22 for senior citizens and Northwestern faculty and staff; and $10 for students.

 “Candide, A Musical Comedy,” 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 10; 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 11; 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 12; 8 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 15; 8 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 16; 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17; 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 18; and 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 19, Ethel M. Barber Theatre, 30 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston campus.  Based on the play by Voltaire, this Leonard Bernstein masterpiece includes an operetta-flavored score and show-stopping arias. The Broadway musical comedy follows the story of a young man and his friends as they survive a string of disasters, while continuing their optimistic search for the “best of all possible worlds.” Tickets are $25 for the general public; $22 for senior citizens and Northwestern faculty and staff; and $10 for students.

DANCE

 “Danceworks 2006,” 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24; 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 25; 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 26; 8 p.m. Wednesday, March 1; 8 p.m. Thursday, March 2; 8 p.m. Friday, March 3; 8 p.m. Saturday, March 4; and 2 p.m. Sunday, March. 5, Josephine Louis Theatre, 20 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston campus. This annual showcase features the finest choreography of the Northwestern University Dance Program faculty. Northwestern University Dance Program Director Joseph Mills will direct this year’s program. This year’s choreographers are Mills, Molly Shanahan, Jeff Hancock, Laura Wade, Glenn Leslie and Alexis Leonard. Mills and Dance Professor Susan A. Lee will reconstruct a Momix piece. Tickets are $20 for the general public; $18 for senior citizens and Northwestern faculty and staff; and $10 for students.

“Children’s Introduction to the Dance,” 10 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 25, Josephine Louis Theatre, 20 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston campus.  In conjunction with “Danceworks 2006,” the Northwestern University Dance Program will present a special “Children’s Introduction to the Dance” program for youngsters aged 4 and older and their families. The event will include demonstrations and excerpts from most of the dances featured in “Danceworks 2006” performed by the show’s cast. An interactive segment will invite audience members to explore some of the movement ideas from their seats. Dance faculty member Susan A. Lee will moderate the informative program. All tickets are $5. To order tickets by phone, call the Theatre and Interpretation Center box office at (847) 491-7282.