•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Wasielewski Receives Norris Award

December 13, 2005

Michael R. Wasielewski, professor of chemistry, has been awarded the 2006 James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry from the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society.

The award honors Wasielewski’s contributions to understanding electron transfer reactions in problems ranging from biomimetic models for the photosynthetic reaction center to fundamental approaches to organic molecular electronics.

His research interests include photo-induced electron transfer and charge transport in organic molecules and materials; self-assembly of nanoscale materials; magnetic properties of radical ion pairs; ultra-fast optical and magnetic resonance techniques; materials for molecule-based opto-electronics and spintronics; and the biophysics of proteins involved in the primary processes of photosynthesis.

Wasielewski has held numerous distinguished lectureships and fellowships, and his research has resulted in more than 280 publications. He was awarded the 2004 Photochemistry Award of the Inter-American Photochemical Society.

Wasielewski was chair of Northwestern’s chemistry department from 2001 to 2004. Before joining Northwestern in 1994, he was a member of the scientific staff at Argonne National Laboratory, where he served as group leader of the Molecular Photonics Group.

Topics: People