•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Three Faculty Members Awarded Fulbrights

December 27, 2005 | by Wendy Leopold

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Three Northwestern University faculty members – Carl R. Johnson, Gary E. Swanson and Brook A. Ziporyn -- have been awarded Fulbright Scholar grants for the 2005-06 academic year.

Johnson, a scenic artist at the Theatre and Interpretation Center, will visit Taipei’s National Taiwan University, where he will lecture on theatrical environments and the impact of the visual arts on theatre. Johnson teaches basic scene design, scene painting and life drawing for theatre at Northwestern.

Swanson, assistant professor of broadcast journalism at the Medill School of Journalism, will visit Beijing’s Communications University of China. He will lecture on broadcast journalism and production topics. A former faculty member at DePauw University, Swanson worked as a network editor and producer for NBC Nightly News, The Today Show, and in the Chicago bureau of Sunrise.

Ziporyn, associate professor of religion and philosophy, will visit Huafan University in Taipei, researching Tiantai Buddhism. Ziporyn, who teaches courses on Zen Buddhism, contemporary Buddhist philosophy, Confucianism, Taoism and other subjects at Northwestern, has published books in intellectual history, religion and philosophy.

Johnson, Swanson and Ziporyn are among approximately 850 faculty and professionals traveling abroad as Fulbright Scholars to some 150 countries this academic year. The Fulbright Scholar Program was established in 1946 through legislation introduced by the now late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. It is designed to build understanding between scholars in the United States and other countries.

America’s flagship international educational exchange program, program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Topics: People