•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Bienen, Moore Appointed to State Task Force

December 14, 2004

President Henry S. Bienen and Vice President for Research C. Bradley Moore are serving as members of a task force of government, business, labor and university leaders to bring a $1 billion project to Argonne National Laboratory.

In naming the task force, Gov. Rod Blagojevich said the group would work to bring the U.S. Department of Energy’s proposed Rare Isotope Accelerator to Argonne.

The project could add hundreds of permanent jobs and thousands of construction jobs in the area.

Other members of the task force are U.S. House Speaker J. Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.), Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), former Sen. Peter Fitzgerald (R-Ill.), U.S. Rep. Judy Biggert (R-Ill.), AFL-CIO President Margaret Blackshere, Chicago Federation of Labor President Dennis Gannon, Civic Committee of the Commercial Club of Chicago President R. Eden Martin, Northern Illinois University President John Peters, Illinois Coalition Chairman Samuel Skinner and University of Illinois President James J. Stukel.