Senior Celebration

Specifically for graduating seniors, MSA hosts an end-year celebration and presents several awards to honor students for academic achievement, leadership, and community contributions.

Award Descriptions

MSA Senior Awards

Heritage Award: Three Heritage Awards are given to seniors who have consistently contributed to the African American, Asian/Asian American, and Hispanic/Latino communities over the course of their undergraduate careers at Northwestern.

Visionary Award: The Visionary Award is given to a senior who effectively participates in a variety of campus communities and builds connections amongst them.

Community Builder Award: The Community Builder Award is given to one faculty and one staff member who has demonstrated commitment and leadership in support of the multicultural community at Northwestern.

Senior Celebration 2010Senior Celebration 2011Senior Celebration 2012

2012 Award Recipients

Amin Elsaeed (AASA Heritage Award)

Pamela Hung (A/AASA Heritage Award)

Luis Frausto (H/LSA Heritage Award)

Burgwell Howard and Frances Aparicio (Community Builder)

Tyris Jones (Visionary Award)

2011 Award Recipients


Makda Fessahaye (AASA Heritage Award)

Omar Khalid (A/AASA Heritage Award)

Lillianna Franco (H/LSA Heritage Award)

Todd Nelson and Dr. Micaela Diaz-Sanchez (Community Builder)

Joseph Spiro (Visionary Award)

2010 Award Recipients


Corey Winchester (AASA Heritage Award)

A.J. Aguado (A/AASA Heritage Award)

Ivette De Moya (H/LSA Heritage Award)

Daniel Miller (Community Builder Award)

Arianna Hermosillo (Visionary Award)

List of Past Award Recipients (doc)