Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture on Community

Gregg kindle website graphic

The Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture

Creating and sustaining an inclusive Northwestern experience requires open, authentic communication; inspired leadership; and a commitment to social justice. The Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture features scholars and/or practitioners who are making significant intellectual and practical contributions to support thriving communities. Each year our featured lecturers challenge our assumptions about our role in community, help us understand ourselves and others, and give us tools to succeed.

The annual spring lecture honors the legacy of the late Gregg A. Kindle, Director of Residential Life and Assistant Dean of Students from 1986 to 2003. Gregg worked at Northwestern for 22 years and was passionate about developing inclusive residential communities. He cared deeply for students and led department efforts to create timely and innovative campus programs, some of which continue today, such as the SafeRide program, the LGBT support network, and anti-sexual assault education initiatives. Gregg is remembered for his contributions to the development of a new generation of residential living areas including ACCI, Kemper Hall, and Slivka Hall. He also helped create the first residentially based coffeehouse/café, which led to the development of Lisa’s Café on north campus.

6th Annual Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture on Community featuring Patrick Day

Staff/Faculty Session

Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Parkes 122
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Student Session

Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Norris University Center Louis Room
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Speaker Biography: Patrick Day

Originally from Toledo, Ohio, Patrick Day began his career working as an undergraduate in the Northwestern University Office of Undergraduate Admission, recruiting students of color to the University. After graduating with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education and Social Policy, he moved to Texas to serve as the Coordinator of Multicultural Student Services at Texas Tech University. He was promoted to Assistant Dean of Students and his responsibilities included orientation, retention, and leadership development. After completing a Master of Education Degree in Higher Education Administration (M.Ed.) while working at Texas Tech, Patrick moved to Charlotte, North Carolina to serve as the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students at Johnson C. Smith University.

After seven months at the historically black university and at age 28, he became the Senior Student Affairs Officer charged with leadership of the Division of Student Affairs. Upon leaving JCSU, Patrick became the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs at Temple University becoming a senior administrator at the institution of 34,000 students. In July 2006, Patrick was appointed the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs on the urban campus of the University of Massachusetts Boston where he provided leadership for the co-curricular educational experience.

In August 2013, he became a Tiger. He was named Vice President for Student Life at the University of the Pacific in Stockton, Sacramento, and San Francisco, California overseeing 110 full-time and 42 part-time staff in a division responsible for 24 student-support offices including Health and Counseling; Student Support Services; Multi-faith Chaplaincy Services; Leadership Development; Housing and Greek Life; Dining Services; the Career Resource Center; the Center for Community Involvement; Educational Equity Programs; Multicultural Affairs; the Pacific Women's Center; Services for Student Disabilities; Student Activities and the Associated Students of University of the Pacific (ASuop); Recreation Services; New Student & Family Programs; Student Conduct and Community Standards; and Public Safety.

Past Distinguished Lecturers

2014 Dr. Vijay Pendakur: "The Only Constant is Change: A New Approach to Managing Inter-Cultural Conflict" and "Understanding Privilege and Leading with Responsibility"

2013 Dr. Maura Cullen: “Building Inclusive Communities”

2012 Vernon Wall: “One Better World”

2011 Dr. Harry Boyte: “We the People: Students and the Global Movement for Civic Empowerment”

2010 Paul Rogat Loeb: “Personal Belief, Community, and Making a Difference in a Cynical World”