NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY University Senate Meeting Tuesday, December 3, 2002 Forum Room McCormick-Tribune Building Evanston Campus 3:30 p.m.

Refreshments – 3:00 p.m.

1. Approval of the Minutes of the November 27, 2001, University Senate Meeting

2. Approval of New University Senate Members (See Page 2 of this document)

Excuse of Observers

3. Presentation of Nominees for Honorary Degrees: Mr. Margolis

Readmission of Observers

4. Child Care Issues: Ms. Eagly

5. CIC Faculty Leaders Resolution on :Mr. Hunter Intercollegiate Athletics

6. Parking: Mr. Sunshine

7. University Health Insurance Coverage: Mr. Ten Eick Viagra, birth control, and related budget trade-offs

8. Remarks of the President: Mr. Bienen

9. Voting on Honorary Degree Nominees: Mr. Bienen

10. Such other matters as may properly come before the Senate

INFORMATION CONCERING THE MOTION TO APPROVE NEW MEMBERS TO THE SENATE:

The University Statutes in regard to eligibility for Senate membership include:

1. Professors

2. Associate Professors who, after serving five years in that rank, are reappointed

3. Members of standing committees elected by the Senate

4. Other members of the various faculties as may be nominated by any faculty and elected by the Senate.

In accordance with two resolutions of the Senate in past years, first term associate professors and all assistant professors may now be elected to Senate membership by Senate vote upon nomination as stipulated in Item 4 above. Therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED that all faculty of the rank of assistant and associate professor as nominated by their respective schools be elected to membership in the University Senate.