Agenda

Faculty Senate

May 4, 2016

5:00-6:45 PM

l.	Greetings!	Ed Hughes
II.	Introductions:	
	a. Mr. William Osborn, Chairman of The Board of Trustees Northwe	stern University
	b. New, First Time Senators	
	c. Guests	
III.	Annual Session with Mr. Osborn	Bill Osborn
	a. Remarks	
	b. Questions and Answers	
IV.	Review and Approval of Minutes of: March 2 nd , 2016 Meeting (Attachmen	nt #1)
	April 6 th , 2016 Meeting (Attachment	#2)
V.	The "Letter to the Senate" previously circulated April 20th, 2016	Michal Ginsburg
	a. Responses to the "Letter"	All
	b. Discussion	All
VI.	Consideration of Motion to declare invalid the vote in	Barbara Newman
	support of appointment of Ambassador Eikenberry	S. Hollis Clayson
	a. Motion Attached (Attachment #3)	
	b. Discussion of Motion	All
	c. Vote of Motion	All
VII.	The Ongoing Work of the Senate: Four Important Committee Reports	
	a. Educational Affairs Committee	Michele McDonough
	i. Update on Compilation of Departmental Responses Rega	rding the Report of the
	Task Force on Undergraduate Academic Experience	
	ii. Committee report to be presented at the June Meeting	

Undergraduates, if not all of the University

iii. Solicitation of Additional Suggestions to Advance the Welfare of

b. Handbook Committee

c. Governance Committee

Carol Simpson Stern

Lois Hedman

- i. Proposed Bylaw Clarifications and Changes (Attachment #4)
- d. Research Affairs Committee

André Luiz De Gouvêa

- i. Progress on Copyright Policy
 - Request for Senate to Nominate 3 Members of Copyright Policy Committee
- VIII. Other Requests for Nominations from the Faculty Senate
 - a. Two nominations for the "Committee for Socially Responsible Investment"
 - i. To advise President Shapiro and Will McLean, Chief Investment Officer
 - Two nominees for Selection Committee for Provost Faculty Excellence in Diversity and Equity Awards
- IX. Preliminary Report on Global Initiative Report
 - a. Meeting of Executive Committee of Faculty Senate with Dean Blount and Nim Chinniah:
 April 28, 2016
- X. Other Committee Reports

COMMITTEE CHAIR

Budget and Planning Bob Hariman

Cause Charlotte Crane

Faculty Handbook Lois Deming Hedman

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Rives B Collins

Non-Tenure Eligible Heather L Colburn

Salary and Benefits Lawrence Christiano

Secure Faculty Survey Martin P. Block

Social Responsibility Marcus Moseley

Student Affairs Karen Springen

XI. Faculty Representative on the Illinois Board of Higher Education

Babette Sanders

- a. Governor Bruce Rauner Appoints John Bambanek
- b. Faculty Response

XII. Other Items

a. Succession Planning

XIII. Future Meetings

- a. Summit Meeting—Friday, May 13, 10:00-11:30 am, Rebecca Crown Conference Room
- b. Executive Committee—Thursday, May 19, 4:30-6:30 pm, Kellogg Room 619
- c. Faculty Senate—Wednesday, June 8, 5:00-6:45 pm (2nd Wed. of the month)
- d. Assembly—Tuesday, June 7, 4:00-5:30 pm, Swift Hall 107 and Wieboldt Hall 421

XIV. Adjournment