GENERAL FACULTY COMMITTEE

Meeting Minutes

October 07, 2009

Members In attendance: Chair Stephen Eisenman, William Ocasio, Jack Doppelt, Anupam Garg, Andrew Koppelman, Ferdinando Mussa-Ivaldi, Aryeh Routtenberg, Alan Sahakian, Babette Sanders, Sylvia Wang

1. Greetings and Introduction: GFC Chair Stephen Eisenman called the meeting to order at 7:10 pm.

2. Approval of minutes of June 3, 2009 Meeting

The minutes of the June 3, 2009 meeting were approved unanimously and will be posted to the GFC website.

3. Summary of Existing GFC Initiatives

a) GFC Executive Committee - Meeting with Schapiro

Stephen Eisenman gave a brief overview of the recent Executive Committee meeting with President Schapiro, and conveyed Dr. Schapiro's support for Faculty Governance reform and his willingness to collaborate with the GFC to further the initiative. President Schapiro has asked that Provost Daniel Linzer work directly with the GFC on the shared Governance initiative.

b) Ombudsman Program

John Elson and the General Counsel will work together to finalize the Ombudsman Program guidelines.

c) Budget Committee and Planning Process

Chair of the Budget subcommittee, Sandro Mussa-Ivaldi, will work to solidify the GFC's role in the University's current budget planning process and will collaborate with William Ocasio on attending, and reporting of, the administration's budget meetings.

d) NU Childcare

GFC members discussed several aspects of the childcare initiative including actual need; GFC's role in research and implementation versus the administration's level of responsibility; what research has already been done; and alternative benefits solutions for those who do not have children. In light of the discussion, Chair of the Childcare subcommittee, Andrew Koppelman will gather data to present to the General Faculty Committee at the November GFC meeting. The information will be used to determine the next step, which will eventually lead to a final recommendation to the administration about Childcare.

e) Faculty Governance Process - Proposal for Non-Tenured Faculty Representation

General Faculty Committee members discussed and thoroughly examined several alternatives that would ensure sufficient non-tenure track faculty representation in the faculty governance proposal. They analyzed representation proportions by department, by school and by non-tenure group classification, which includes adjunct, lecturer and clinical.

A motion was made, and seconded, that membership in the Senate be expanded to include one non-tenure eligible representative from each school, to be chosen by the non-tenure track faculty of that school. The floor was opened for discussion and a short debate ensued. General Faculty Committee members voted and the motion was passed, 9 to 1 in favor.

Stephen Eisenman will add the non-tenure representation amendment to the current faculty governance document, which he will then pass on to Provost Daniel Linzer for further examination.

4. Potential Initiatives from 2008-2009

Stephen Eisenman presented the following existing initiatives as potential items for the General Faculty Committee to continue pursuing:

a) Diversity at Northwestern has long been a goal for the University, but met with nominal successes. Stephen Eisenman would like the GFC to help elevate this less than ideal success to a higher level, if possible. As a first step, he recommended the GFC begin a conversation with various constituents who have knowledge and interest in this area, and who could help in determining the best way to proceed. GFC members discussed the pros and cons of going forward with the Diversity initiative with no immediate resolution, so the discussion will continue at a future GFC meeting.

b) Faculty Research Concerns (Including Research Integrity)

Members agreed that there is a growing need for the General Faculty Committee to have a strong Research Affairs subcommittee. Aryeh Routtenberg took action and has agreed to chair the Research subcommittee, which is now charged with undertaking the Research Integrity issue recently given to the GFC. Babette Sanders and William Occasion also rose to the challenge by agreeing to become members of the subcommittee.

c) Faculty Handbook

The General Faculty Committee will ask for volunteers and put together a subcommittee to look at the updated Faculty Handbook document, once it is received from the administration. This is a high priority for the GFC and members plan to take action quickly.

e) Administrator Evaluation

The General Faculty Committee plans to continue looking into the administrator evaluation initiative and

will have an open discussion at a future GFC meeting.

5. Committee Assignments

Stephen Eisenman will reinstitute inactive General Faculty Committee subcommittees only as needed

and/or when there is a charge for a specific task or initiative.

6. Senate Meeting – October 29th

The Faculty Senate meeting is scheduled for Thursday, October 29 from 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm on both the

Evanston campus - Pancoe Auditorium and Chicago campus - Wieboldt 421(Videoconference will be

available between locations). Babette Sanders and Aryeh Routtenberg volunteered to host the Chicago

meeting location. William Ocasio encouraged all GFC members to attend the meeting and challenged

everyone to advertise in their departments.

7. Themes for December 5th Trustee Meeting

Stephen Eisenman proposed "Democracy" as the theme for the upcoming Board of Trustees meeting

scheduled for Saturday, December 5th. He asked for GFC feedback as well as additional or alternative

ideas, to be sent to him via email.

8. New Business

Anupam Garg, Chair of the Benefits subcommittee, briefly talked about the new University committee

being formed and charged to rewrite the rules for SPAC. Representation in this committee is critical since

it will ensure the GFC has a voice in the matter. He strongly urged GFC membership in this new

committee.

Conclusion

The next GFC Meeting will be held on November 4, 2009 at 7:00 pm in Scott Hall room 201 (the

Ripton Room).

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 pm.

Minutes Submitted by: Diana Snyder

Minutes Approved by: General Faculty Committee members

3