# June 1, 2005 Minutes of the General Faculty Committee Meeting

## Members In attendance:

Eva Redei, Thomas Bauman, David Buchholz, Clarke Caywood, Sudhakar Deshmukh, Abraham Haddad, Deborah Lucas, Allen Taflove, Bruce Wessels

## 1. Highest Order of Excellence Presentation - Jake Julia

The administration is pushing forward to implement Highest Order of Excellence recommendations to enhance the infrastructure initiatives that exist. The target date for this initiative is June of next year. Jake Julia presented the recommendation priorities which fall under five categories of the Highest Order of Excellence:

- 1. Expand Reviews of "roles and responsibilities' and organizational structure
- 2. Build a service-focused culture
- 3. Invest in professional development
- 4. Optimize/streamline enterprise business processes
- 5. Ready access to administrative data

Change management would like input and strategy suggestions from the GFC for making the five recommendations concrete.

## 2. Approval of May 4, 2005 minutes

The minutes from the May 4, 2005 GFC meeting were approved by all GFC members present.

### 3. Approval of statement for Faculty Forum

Stemming from a recent discovery that the GFC BLOG has security issues with little choices for setting options, a decision was made by the GFC to make the default setting of the BLOG to be public, not allowing anyone to post a comment anonymously. As a result of this decision, Martin Mueller has written a statement to be posted on the BLOG which outlines this change. A motion was made and approved in favor of posting the document as is with no changes. Software upgrades scheduled for the summer could broaden the setting options which could potentially alter this change, but for now the GFC will proceed as previously voted upon.

### 4. Issues for FY05-06

One GFC goal for the upcoming year will be to discuss ways in which to connect with new faculty and to teach faculty governance.

### In Conclusion:

a. The first GFC meeting of FY2005-06 will be held on October 5, 2005 at 7:00 pm in Scott Hall room 201 (the Ripton Room).

Minutes Submitted by: Diana Snyder