Jump to Navigation ▼

Academic Dishonesty/Misconduct

Any form of unethical behavior that violates the integrity of the academic process such as cheating, plagiarism, bestowing or seeking academic favors or advancement on the basis of friendship or gifts, concealing conflicts of interest, or deliberate failure to meet professional obligations.

General Information - Academic Integrity

Misrepresentation of academic credentials

Misrepresentation of credentials used in obtaining employment or admission to an educational program at Northwestern University.
Employees
Faculty and Students

Student grades/Academic transcripts

Misreporting or inappropriate changing of student grade reporting forms, computer databases or academic transcripts.

General Information - Academic Integrity


School of Communication

Sally Ewing, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Advising and Student Affairs
847-491-7214
sally-ewing@northwestern.edu
Academic Integrity (PDF)

School of Continuing Studies

Timothy Gordon, Associate Dean of Student Services and Registration
312-503-0512
tgordon@northwestern.edu
Academic Integrity

School of Education and Social Policy

Susan Olson, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
847-491-4663
susan-olson@northwestern.edu 
Academic Integrity

Feinberg School of Medicine

John X. Thomas, Jr., Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education 
312-503-1691
jxt@northwestern.edu
Academic Integrity

The Graduate School

847-491-8502
Ethical/Professional Guide

Kellogg Graduate School of Management

Michele Rogers, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
847-491-4504
myrogers@kellogg.northwestern.edu
Honor Code

McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Stephen H. Carr, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Engineering
847-491-7379
Violation of McCormick's Academic Integrity Code

Medill School of Journalism

Michele Bitoun, Senior Director of Undergraduate Education and Teaching Excellence
847-467-2785
m-bitoun@northwestern.edu
Academic Integrity (PDF)

School of Law

Cliff Zimmerman, Associate Dean of Students
312-503-0785
c-zimmerman@law.northwestern.edu
Honor Code

Bienen School of Music

Linda Garton, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
847-491-3818
lgarton@northwestern.edu
Dishonesty in Academic Work

Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Mark Sheldon, Assistant Dean 
847-491-7560
sheldon@northwestern.edu
Academic Integrity


Human Resources (For misrepresentation of academic credentials only)

Eva Erskine, Director
847-467-7605
e-erskine@northwestern.edu

In addition to these resources, Northwestern has selected EthicsPoint to provide you with a simple way to report activities that may involve misconduct or violations of University policy. You may file a report here or by dialing 866-294-3545. This service is not a substitute for, nor does it supersede, any existing reporting methods or protocols already in place at Northwestern for reporting suspected problems or complaints. Instead, the EthicsPoint system provides an additional means of reporting such issues. Any suspected problems or complaints reported via EthicsPoint will be reviewed in accordance with current University procedures, including those described in the Faculty, Staff, or Student Handbooks. Northwestern policy prohibits the taking of retaliatory action against anyone for reporting or inquiring about potential breaches of University policy or for seeking guidance on how to handle suspected breaches.