The Willie Award

The Willie Award was established by the Department of Athletics and Recreation through the generosity of the Pomeranz Family in 2010. The Willie Award is be presented annually to one male and one female varsity student-athlete.

The recipients of The Willie Award will embody PRIDE (Perseverance, Responsibility, Integrity, Dedication and Education) and meet the following criteria:

  • Maintain academic excellence in the classroom
  • Display athletic excellence and sportsmanship in competition
  • Give freely of their time and energy in the community
  • Show a commitment to his/her personal and professional development
  • Provide leadership within the athletics community through participation in either SAAC, PURPLE, or their team
  • Actively support their peers throughout the Northwestern community

2012-2013 Willie Award Winners:

  • Audrey Huth - Cross Country
  • Jeff Budzien - Football

2011-2012 Willie Award Winners:

  • Maria Tedeschi - Women's Lacrosse
  • Jonathan Harris - Men's Soccer

2010-11 Willie Award Winners:

  • Darby St. Clair-Barrie - Women's Lacrosse
  • Corbin Bryant - Football

2009-10 Willie Award Winners:

  • Britta Helwig - Cross Country
  • Matt Denison - Men's Golf